Bright young things

OK, so, for me, one of the most coolest jobs you can ever have is to be Head of visual at Selfridges department store.

Every time I’m in London, I find the time to go and check out what’s going on in the beautiful windows of Selfridges, and I’m never disappointed. As a production designer I was involved with a range of design projects but I admit that I always wanted to design a window display, and the crème de la crème of all window displays has to be the Selfridges’ window,  that is seen by over a million people every day.

I was very exited to hear that Selfridges has decided (for the second year) to give 15 young, UK-based emerging talents from the worlds of fashion, art ,design and food the chance to each design a window display at the famous department store. This past month each designer was  given a window to advertise their product or brand, and these are the results. what do u think?

Tinker & Tailor-artists and interior designers

T.lipop – menswear and accessories designer

Becky Sloan – artist and propmaker

Nuha Razik – photographer

Sorcha O’Raghallaigh – womenswear designer and illustrator

Oliver Ruuger – accessories designe

Maarten van der Horst – womenswear designer

MASC - womenswear designer

William Richard Green – menswear designer

Adam Andrascik – womenswear designer

Shaun Samson – menswear designer

I sincerely recommend reading the Frame magazine’s issue that is all about retail space and window display, this is the link to the digital version. it’s from last year, but for any design lover it’s a real joy.

